Company history

  • 1878

    History of Deka Beer Brewery started in 1878 when Merchant of the First Guild G. M. Smetanin received the permit of the Novgorod City Hall to build Bogemia Brewery.

  • 1913

    By 1913 the brewery produced 200,000 buckets of beer and 40,000 buckets of fruit mead. Bogemia’s beer went on sale throughout the Novgorod Region. The quality of the drinks was so high that the demand for Bogemia exceeded the offer. The head brewer at the enterprise was Anton Vaclavich Smazik who came in 1914 to Novgorod from the Czech town of Limuzy, bringing with him the secrets of brewing the famous Czech beer.

  • 1914

    In the years before WWI the company started building and equipping a new brewery with the output capacity of 600,000 buckets of beer a year. The war and the events of the 1917 revolution stood in the way of the plans. The number of employees also fell, from 78 in 1914 to 47 in 1916. .

  • 1917

    In 1917 beer brewing was discontinued and the company produced only fruit drinks (fruit mead).

  • In the late 1918 the premises of the enterprise were turned over to the Novgorod Governarate Committee for Food (Gubprodkom).

  • 1924

    In May 1924 Bogemia was acquired by new owners and became a cooperative society under the name “Bogemia Beer and Mead Brewing Partnership.”

    In July 1928, after the liquidation of the Novgorod Governorate, Novgorod City Soviet decided to close down “Bogemia Beer and Mead Brewery” as an independent legal entity.

    In October 1938 the decision was adopted to restore the beer and mead brewery, the former Bogemia.

  • 1946

    During the occupation of Novgorod during WWII, Bogemia, as most buildings in the city, was partially demolished. Reconstruction was completed by the third quarter of 1946, and the output capacity was rated at 30,000 hectaliters of beer a year. The new brewery produced only beer, the famous original name of the enterprise with its glorious history - Bogemia Beer and Mead Brewery was not reinstated.

  • 1973

    In 1973 the plant acquired new production facilities and technical equipment of cutting-edge quality.

  • . In 1976-1986 it was a part of the Beer and Soft Drink Industry Corporation.

    In 1986 the enterprise was renamed “Novgorodsky Beer and Soft Drink Enterprise.

  • 1992

    In October 1992 the enterprise was registered as Deka Open Joint-Stock Society. After the new plant became operational, and until 1990 Bogemia still produced natural bread kvass.

  • 2004

    In 2004 the company started the full-scale reconstruction of the Deka production facilities and premises, and new modern hi-tech equipment was installed.

  • 2005

    In 2005 the company returned to making kvass, and that brought about its active development. The first trade mark of the enterprise was Nikola kvass. The first batch of the kvass was brewed on April 22, 2005. In 2006 Deka became a national company. In the summer of the same year the first containers of Nikola Kvass were shipped to New York. Sales results showed that American consumers were interested in the traditional Russian drink.

  • 2008

    Reconstruction of the plant with installation of the new bottling line (KHS AG, made in 2007) with the capacity of 36,000 bottles an hour ended in 2008. In the same year Deka joyously celebrated its 130th anniversary.

  • 2009

    In the spring of 2009 Deka Company launched the new Big Kvass brand. The idea of Big Kvass was born when the consumer behavior changed in economic conditions of the late 2008.

  • 2010

    In the same year Deka added a new brand, Stepan Timofeevich, to its brand portfolio, thus increasing its presence in St. Petersburg. Since October 2009 Stepan Timofeevich was bottled at a Deka facility, with the same delicious taste of the favorite class and an improved recipe. Additionally, in 2010 Deka created a new design for Stepan Timofeevich kvass, and started the first advertising campaign in the history of the brand.

    In May 2010 Deka Company created a new design for Nikola kvass.

  • 2011

    In 2011 Deka launched a new advertising campaign, which became the strongest promotional event in the company’s history, making Deka even more popular. In 2011 Deka became the largest Russian producer of kvass with the market share of 37.7%. Of ten largest brands in terms of sales volume, six brands are manufactured by Deka, which allows the company to take the dominating position on the market of kvass as a manufacturer.

  • 2012

    In 2012 the flagship brand of Deka, Nikola(TM) became one of the best Russian brands, created after 2005, according to Forbes Magazine.

  • 2014

    In 2014 a large-scale advertising campaign was held to promote Nikola Kvass. The face of the new product was actor Nikolay Naumov, famous for his role in “Real Guys” TV series. Nikolay’s task was to attract a younger audience, offer an alternative to artificial carbonated drink: the tasty and nutritious Nikola kvass.

  • 2015

    On April 22, 2015 Nikola Kvass brand celebrated its tenth anniversary. Over this time Nikola became the most famous kvass brand across Russia, the leader of sales. Every citizen of Russia learned about Deka Company, and Novgorod became the capital of kvass.

История компании

  • 1878

    История пивоваренного завода «Дека» начинается в 1878 году, когда купцу первой гильдии Г.М. Сметанину было выдано разрешение Новгородской Городской Управы на строительство пивоваренного завода «Богемия»

  • 1913

    К 1913 году выработка пива составляла 200 000 ведер и 40 000 ведер фруктового меда. Пивом Богемии обслуживался весь рынок Новгородской губернии. Спрос на пиво «Богемия» был больше выработки, что объяснялось отменным качеством продукции. Старшим пивоваром завода был Антон Вацлович Смажик, который в 1914 году специально для работы на заводе «Богемия» прибыл в Новгород из чешского города Лимуз, привезя с собой секреты производства знаменитого чешского пива.

  • 1914

    Накануне Первой мировой войны товарищество приступило к строительству и оборудованию нового варочного отделения, рассчитанного на производство 600 000 ведер пива. Но война и события революции 1917 года помешали воплотить задуманное. Сократилась и численность рабочих: с 78 человек в 1914 до 47 в 1916 году.

  • 1917

    В 1917 году производство пива было приостановлено, завод выпускал только фруктовые напитки (фруктовый мед).

  • В конце 1918 года помещения завода были переданы комитету по продовольствию Новгородской губернии (Губпродкому).

  • 1924

    В мае 1924 «Богемия» перешла к новым владельцам, после чего стала кооперативной организацией под фирмой «Пивомедоваренное товарищество «Богемия». 

    В июле 1928 года, после ликвидации Новгородской губернии, Новгорсовет решил вопрос о ликвидации пивомедоваренного завода «Богемия» как самостоятельного юридического лица. 

    А в октябре 1938 года было принято решение о восстановлении пивомедоваренного завода, бывшего «Богемии».

  • 1946

    При оккупации Новгорода в годы Великой Отечественной войны «Богемия», как и большинство зданий города, была частично разрушена. Восстановление завершили к III кварталу 1946 года, и мощность предприятия должна была составлять 30000 гектолитров пива в год. Восстановили завод просто как пивоваренный, звучное историческое название, зарекомендовавшее себя за многие годы существования – пиво - медоваренный завод «Богемия» — восстановлено не было.

  • 1973

    В 1973 году завод приобрел новые производственные помещения и техническое оснащение, отвечающие всем требованиям того времени.

  • С 1976 по 1986 год завод входил в объединение пиво - безалкогольной промышленности.

    В 1986 году завод был переименован в пиво - безалкогольный завод «Новгородский».

  • 1992

    С октября 1992 года предприятие зарегистрировано как Акционерное общество открытого типа «Дека». На «Богемии» и после ввода в строй нового завода вплоть до 1990 года продолжали производить натуральный хлебный квас.

  • 2004

    В 2004 году компания начала полную реконструкцию производственных мощностей и помещений завода Дека, было закуплено и установлено новое современное высокотехнологичное оборудование.

  • 2005

    В 2005 году компания возродила производство кваса, чем предопределила свое активное развитие. Первой торговой маркой стал квас «Никола». Производство первой партии кваса состоялось 22 апреля 2005 года. В 2006 году компания «Дека» стала национальной компанией. Летом этого же года, в Нью-Йорк были отправлены первые контейнеры с квасом «Никола». Результаты продаж показали активный интерес потребителей к этому традиционному русскому напитку.

  • 2008

    В 2008 году завершилась реконструкция завода, покупкой новой линии розлива (производитель KHS AG, 2007 г.э.), мощностью 36 000 бут./час. И в этом же году завод «Дека» торжественно отметил своё 130-летие!

  • 2009

    Весной 2009 года компания«Дека» запускает новый бренд «Большой квас». Идея создания "Большого кваса" появилась на фоне изменений потребительского поведения в сложившихся экономических условиях в конце 2008 года.

  • 2010

    В этом же году «Дека» пополнила портфель брендов новой торговой маркой «Степан Тимофеевич», тем самым усилив свои позиции в Санкт-Петербурге. С октября 2009 года, квас «Степан Тимофеевич» разливается на мощностях компании «Дека», сохранив вкус любимого кваса и усовершенствовав рецептуру. Помимо этого, в 2010 году, компания «Дека» обновила дизайн кваса "Степан Тимофеевич" и впервые за всю историю бренда запустила рекламную кампанию.

    В мае 2010 года компания "Дека" обновила дизайн кваса «Никола».

  • 2011

    В 2011 году компания «Дека» запускает свою новую рекламную кампанию, став самой сильной в истории компании, а «Деке» это прибавляет еще больше популярности. По итогам 2011 года, компания «Дека» стала крупнейшим производителем кваса в России с долей 37,7% . Из десяти крупнейших брендов по объемам продаж, шесть марок выпускает «Дека», что обеспечивает компании доминирующее положение на рынке кваса как производителя.

  • 2012

    В 2012 году флагманский бренд компании «Дека», торговая марка «Никола», вошел в число лучших отечественных брендов, созданных после 2005 года, по версии журнала Forbes.

  • 2014

    В 2014 году была проведена масштабная рекламная кампания в поддержку кваса "Никола". Главным героем новой рекламы стал актер Николай Наумов, известный многим по телесериалу "Реальные пацаны". Участие Николая призвано привлечь внимание более молодую аудиторию, предложить альтернативу искусственным газировкам в виде вкусного и полезного кваса "Никола".

  • 2015

    Квасу «Никола» 22 апреля 2015 года исполнилось 10 лет. За это время «Никола» стал самым известным квасным брендом на всей территории России, лидером по объему продаж. О «Деке» узнали все россияне, Великий Новгород стал Родиной кваса.